Special Education

Alexandra Nixon

Special Education Teacher

P: 515.242.7774 | E: alexandra.nixon@dmschools.org

Amanda Welch

Special Education Consultant

E: amanda.welch@dmschools.org

Amy Riemer

1 on 1 Associate

E: amy.riemer@dmschools.org

Brenda Cornwell

E: brenda.cornwell@dmschools.org

Caitlin Huffman

BD teacher

P: 515.242.7774 | E: caitlin.huffman@dmschools.org

Courtney Bright

E: courtney.bright@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Hawaii Pacific University in Honolulu, Hawaii.  I have been a teacher at Amos Hiatt Middle School for 9 years and volleyball coach for 7 years.  I have one son and am expecting a 2nd child in April 2013.  I enjoy spending time outdoors, hunting, fishing, and having fun with my family.  I am also the Iowa Director and Transport Coordinator for a midwest dog rescue that saves the lives of countless hunting dogs (German Shortharied Pointers and English Pointers).  My favorite thing about Hiatt is the students.  They make it fun to come to work every day!!!!

Elizabeth Green

E: elizabeth.green@dmschools.org

Biography

I teach 6th and 7th grade math at Amos Hiatt Middle School.  This is my second year teaching at Hiatt and I have truly enjoyed working with the staff and forming relationships with my students.  I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a bachelor’s degree in Education and a minor in Special Education. I am originally from Harlan, Iowa and have lived in Des Moines for 2 years.

Kelly Giboo

BD teacher

P: 515.242.7774 | E: kelly.giboo@dmschools.org

Marty Simpson

E: marty.simpson@dmschools.org

Biography

I have been at Hiatt for two years in the special education department. I have lived in Des Moines all my life and am a graduate of Dowling High School and Upper Iowa University. I am married (Denise) and have two boys (Trent and Nick), the oldest at Ellsworth Community College and the youngest attends St. Theresa's School. I have enjoyed coaching youth sports and now enjoy watching my boys in their sports and time with my family.

Mary Barton

Sign Language Interpreter

E: mary.barton@dmschools.org

Sarah Civgin

Special Ed - Math

E: sarah.civgin@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Sarah Amena Civgin, and this is my 3rd year at Amos Hiatt!  I am currently supporting 7th grade math. I graduated from Grand View University in 2012. I am married and have two big cats.