Student Support Staff

Allison Cain

Guidance Counselor

E: allison.cain@dmschools.org

Becca Ites

Physical Education Associate

E: becca.ites@dmschools.org

Becky VanHoweling

Math

E: becky.vanhoweling@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Grand View with my special education degree in December of 2001.   I started my teaching career at Hiatt in 2002.  In 2005, I received my Masters of Education from Graceland University in Quality Teaching Strategies. I live in Pella, but I don’t mind the commute because it gives me some time to myself.    I have two daughters, that keep my husband and I very busy with all of their activities.  In my free time, I love spending time outdoors, going to sprint car races, and spending time with friends and family.

Cindy Welsh

Special Education Associate

E: cindy.welsch@dmschools.org

Biography

I am currently in a Structured Learning classroom. Besides numerous years in different special education classrooms I have been in tech ed and art. I graduated from Simpson College in 2009. I spend my spare time with friends, my two grown sons, doing DIY projects with my husband or sewing.

Danielle Dupre

Guidance Counselor

E: danielle.dupre@dmschools.org

Biography

As a school counselor at Hiatt Middle School, it is my goal to help students navigate their way through the complicated world of academics, social dynamics, and planning for the future.  Each day I look forward to working with the diverse body of students at Hiatt.  I enjoy learning from all of the people who make up the Hiatt community - educators and students alike.  What a great community we are!
 
Please contact me at the email address listed above with any questions you may have about the counseling department and the services we offer.

Donna Scarfe

Sign Language Interpreter

E: donna.scarfe@dmschools.org

Erin Hemesath

Success

E: erin.hemesath@dmschools.org

Biography

I came to Hiatt in January 2007 and have enjoyed assisting our students and families ever since. I graduated from Iowa State in 2004 with a degree in Psychology. I have two daughters and love to spend my time cheering on the cyclones.

Kathryn Bratland-Kellner

Title Reading

E: Kathryn.BratlandKellner@dmschools.org

Loretta Waddell

Special Education Associate

E: loretta.waddell@dmschools.org

Biography

If walls could talk, I am sure you would hear,
I have been here helping students for quite a few years.
I have a son, a daughter, and a cat named midnight. I have been an associate here at Hiatt Middle School for 14 years.

Matt Waring

Campus Monitor

E: matthew.waring@dmschools.org

Biography

Roaming the halls since 2014.

Michelle Vincent

Title I Reading

E: michelle.vincent@dmschools.org

Mike Koch

Next Step Counseling

E: michael.koch@dmschools.org

Monica Congdon

Social Worker

E: monica.cogdon@dmschools.org

Sarah Schmitz

SUCCESS

P: 515.242.7774 | E: sarah.schmitz@dmschools.org

Tanekia Heard

Special Education Associate

E: tanekia.heard@dmschools.org

Biography

I enjoy waking up early in the morning chasing behind four of my own outgoing kids, fifteen, thirteen, and six year old twins. I have years of experience dealing with my own four beautiful children, at home as well as at Hiatt.  I listen, correct, and make sure I encourage!

Velida Kovacevic

Title I Math Instructional Support

E: velida.kovacevic@dmschools.org

Biography

I have been with a DMPS district since 2000. I graduated from Grand View University and became a Mathematics and Physics Teacher 5-12 in 2009. I am married and have two children.  My hobbies are sewing and crafting.