Building Support Staff

Amanda Welch

Special Education Consultant

E: amanda.welch@dmschools.org

Barb Evans

Food Service

E: barb.evans@dmschools.org

Biography

I hope you like our gourmet feast, I hope you won't complain.
For if you do I'll have to bring the old cook back again.

Bedilla Ortega

Bilingual Community Outreach

E: bedilla.ortega@dmschools.org

Biography

Hola Amigos! I'm the Bilingual Outreach Worker here at Hiatt. I was born in El Salvador, but I was raised in California and now I call  Iowa my home sweet home. I joined the Hiatt team in 2010, and I have enjoyed supporting the ELL students as well as their families. I enjoy spending time with my husband and my 3 children.

Caroline Olsen

Nurse

P: 515-242-8450 | E: caroline.olsen@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Caroline Olsen.  I've been a nurse since 1984 and practiced in several areas including pediatrics and cardiology.   I've been a school nurse in the Des Moines district since 2007 and at Hiatt since 2013.   I have 2 grown daughters and my husband, Chris, who I call family.

 

(Please contact me if you have questions or concerns about your child's medical condition.  I'm here to make life as healthy and safe as possible for all students.)

515-242-8450 direct to my office

Chanh Nguyen

First Assistant

Charlie Nhai

Chief Engineer

E: charlie.nhai@dmschools.org

Biography

Just when things look the worst,

I'm the one who gets there first!

Erin Hemesath

Success

E: erin.hemesath@dmschools.org

Biography

I came to Hiatt in January 2007 and have enjoyed assisting our students and families ever since. I graduated from Iowa State in 2004 with a degree in Psychology. I have two daughters and love to spend my time cheering on the cyclones.

Jeanette Schwerin

Food Service

E: jeanette.schwerin@dmschools.org

Biography

Tick-tock, tick-tock,
I love to serve around the clock!

Jill Padgett

Community in Schools

E: jill.padget@dmschools.org

Lisa Grosnickle

Food Service

E: lisa.grosnickle@dmschools.org

Biography

Hustle and bustle it's quiet in here,
all working so hard, have no fear,
We'll have food ready for your students today,
just in time so they don't melt away.

Rhonda Banks

Food Service

E: rhonda.banks@dmschools.org

Class Description

The spoons clanged and banged on the tray,
now it is time to wash the remains away.

Somaly Chak

Operation Pool

E: somaly.chak@dmschools.org

Biography

Hours turn into days and weeks,

by cleaning bathrooms and fixing leaks.

Wanda Wilson

Operation Pool

E: wanda.wilson@dmschools.org

Biography

I can sweep and wipe everything everyday,

I can find my way through the dirt any day!