Building Support Staff

Amanda Welch

Special Education Consultant

E: amanda.welch@dmschools.org

Barb Evans

Food Service

E: barb.evans@dmschools.org

Biography

I hope you like our gourmet feast, I hope you won't complain.
For if you do I'll have to bring the old cook back again.

Caroline Olsen

Nurse

P: 515-242-8450 | E: caroline.olsen@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Caroline Olsen.  I've been a nurse since 1984 and practiced in several areas including pediatrics and cardiology.   I've been a school nurse in the Des Moines district since 2007 and at Hiatt since 2013.   I have 2 grown daughters and my husband, Chris, who I call family.

 

(Please contact me if you have questions or concerns about your child's medical condition.  I'm here to make life as healthy and safe as possible for all students.)

515-242-8450 direct to my office

Chanh Nguyen

First Assistant

Charlie Nhai

Chief Engineer

E: charlie.nhai@dmschools.org

Biography

Just when things look the worst,

I'm the one who gets there first!

Jacob Burke

Behavior Coach / Activities Coordinator

E: jacob.burke@dmschools.org

Class Description

I am the Behavior Coach and Activities Coordinator at Amos Hiatt Middle School.

I graduated from Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa. After graduation, I was hired to teach at a high school in Goodyear, Arizona. I spent 13 years with the Agua Fria Union High School District in many different roles. Originally I was a PE teacher, then I became a Drop-Out Prevention Teacher, and finally I worked as the District’s Title Funding / ELL Coordinator. I also had the privilege to be a part of some very successful athletic programs as I coached various sports including; Basketball, Football, Softball, and Golf.

In the summer of 2014, my wife and I relocated to the Des Moines area.  I am very excited to be the Behavior Coach and Activities Coordinator here at Hiatt Middle School.

Jeanette Schwerin

Food Service

E: jeanette.schwerin@dmschools.org

Biography

Tick-tock, tick-tock,
I love to serve around the clock!

Jill Padgett

Community in Schools

E: jill.padget@dmschools.org

Lisa Grosnickle

Food Service

E: lisa.grosnickle@dmschools.org

Biography

Hustle and bustle it's quiet in here,
all working so hard, have no fear,
We'll have food ready for your students today,
just in time so they don't melt away.

Mark Schnurstein

Instructional Coach

E: mark.schnurstein@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Mark Schnurstein. In 1993 I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a major in Chemistry education, and a minor in Biology. In 1999 I received my master’s degree in teaching from Webster University in Kansas City. Over my life time I have done many jobs, and one thing that I learned was that I LOVE to teach. The only thing that I love more than teaching is my wife and two kids. Growing up in Alaska, traveling around the US and the world has fostered an excitement for learning and how the world works. I enjoy looking at how science directly affects our world, country, our state, and ultimately ourselves.

 

Mr. Schnurstein's weebly: http://mrschnurstein.weebly.com/

Monica Congdon

Social Worker

E: monica.cogdon@dmschools.org

Rhonda Banks

Food Service

E: rhonda.banks@dmschools.org

Class Description

The spoons clanged and banged on the tray,
now it is time to wash the remains away.

Sarah Schmitz

SUCCESS

P: 515.242.7774 | E: sarah.schmitz@dmschools.org

Somaly Chak

Operation Pool

E: somaly.chak@dmschools.org

Biography

Hours turn into days and weeks,

by cleaning bathrooms and fixing leaks.

Wanda Wilson

Operation Pool

E: wanda.wilson@dmschools.org

Biography

I can sweep and wipe everything everyday,

I can find my way through the dirt any day!

 

Virginia Martin

Instructional Coach

E: virginia.martin@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! I am the Visual Arts Educator for 6-8th grade. This is my fourth year at Amos Hiatt and I am loving every minute! I recently switched to a "choice-based art" philosophy. In the choice art room we focus on teaching artistic behavior vs. focusing on specific projects. The students are able to choose what they want to do during class and I they love it! see http://teachingforartisticbehavior.org if you would like to learn more about choice art.

I graduated from Iowa State University with a BA in K-6 Elementary Education and K-8 Art Education. I am currently attending Iowa State University in the Curriculum and Instructional Technology graduate program. I am learning all I can about infusing technology into learning in this technology rich world.

Links

www.hiattart.blogspot.com